Siân Sharp – Artist and Illustrator

Hello world!

My name is Siân and I’ve just started an MA in Children’s Book Illustration.  I’ve wanted to do this course for a very long time and I’m really excited about it.

Previously in my life: BA in History of Art.  Jobs in bookselling and subediting.  I lived in London for about ten years, and have moved back in with my family while I’m studying.  I’ve just completed a Foundation diploma in Art and Design at my local college: my final project was about 2D puppetry, paper-cutting and storytelling.  Here’s a showreel of the films I made:

This summer, I was selected to take part in Project Space: Showcase 2012 at MK Gallery, in which eight local students each had a week-long solo exhibition.  My exhibition featured lots of drawings of Buckinghamshire during World War II.  It was hard work but I learned a lot from it.  In future, I think I’d like to illustrate factual books for children, and also experiment a lot more with textiles and embroidery.

Here we go!

This entry was published on September 19, 2012 at 9:00 pm. It’s filed under Introducing Myself, Journal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

