Siân Sharp – Artist and Illustrator

First Class

Our first day of teaching!  All the first year part-timers had to do a short Powerpoint presentation with 10 images, titled ‘Who I Am, Where I Come From, Why I Am Here’.  There are about 20 people in the class, almost all women, and a really broad range of experience and interests.

Here are the images I put in my presentation…

A few years ago, I made a series of daft dinosaur Season’s Greetings cards and sold sets on Etsy.  It was thrilling to sell them and get positive feedback from customers around the world.

I did the Foundation diploma in Art at my local college.  My first project was about the Second World War, especially the role of women and the Women’s Land Army.

Over the summer, I did the Showcase 2012 project at MK Gallery, and made a lot of new pictures for that.

The exhibition was about the role our area played in the war effort.  It was called ‘Cows, Codes and Kids’ — Cows for the farm work done by the Land Girls (and cows are a bit of an emblem for MK because of the concrete cows), Codes for Bletchley Park, and Kids because evacuees were sent here.

My second FdA project was about observational drawings of my cats and printmaking.  This is a drypoint etching and below is a pair of monotypes.  I also did linocuts and collagraphs.

My final project was about shadows, storytelling, paper-cutting and puppetry.  These paper-cuts are each A3 size and were made by hand using a scalpel.

I finished the presentation with the showreel from the previous post, which demonstrates some of the puppetry techniques I learned on courses at the Little Angel Theatre in Islington.

This entry was published on September 26, 2012 at 9:30 pm. It’s filed under Introducing Myself, Journal and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

