Siân Sharp – Artist and Illustrator

Urban (and Rural) Sketching

I went sketching in Notting Hill with some friends.  We’d read on Facebook about an event organised by the group Urban Sketchers: they go sketching out and about, then meet up at the pub and have a look at each other’s pictures.  It was fun and everyone I spoke to was nice and friendly.

Portobello Road market was heaving with Saturday shoppers, but every patch of shade seemed to contain a row of two or three artists busily sketching.  “Everywhere you look, people are drawing, it’s like heaven!” said my friend Tanya, happily.

nottinghill

It was so hot and I hoped that drawing in blue crayon would make me feel cool!

portobellogarden

Portobello Green.  This was my first go with waterpens, the kind that have a brush and a little reservoir of water.  There’s less control than you get with paintbrushes, but it was handy not to worry about spilling a pot of water.

I haven’t been out observational sketching for ages (I’ve been brainstorming picture book characters) but this made me resolve to get out more often.  The next day I went drawing around where I live.

almshouses

I want to experiment with sketching in coloured pencils, I’ve learned a lot about handling colour with watercolour and I’m trying to apply some of those lessons in a different medium.  You’re quite limited by what pencil colours you happen to have with you, and I need to work more on conveying light and shadow…  But it was an interesting challenge, and pencil lines are a nice way to capture swirling wind and swishing trees.

manor2

This entry was published on July 13, 2014 at 11:33 pm. It’s filed under Adventures, Journal, Sketchbook and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

